30 Years of Dutch Contemporary Art

16 artists — Heineken Prize for Art — Van Abbemuseum (NL)
July 14 – September 30, 2018

This year the prestigious Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for Art has its 30-year anniversary. The prize of 100.000€ is awarded biannually to a prominent Dutch artist. The 2018 laureate is Erik van Lieshout. A perfect reason for a celebration of all the laureates and a unique opportunity to look at the development of Dutch artistic practice over three decades. The extensive exhibition in the Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven (NL) includes more than 75 works by the 16 artists. The works range across the artistic spectrum from paintings to sculpture, photography, graphics, (video) installations and design.Read more

The selected works are drawn from all the laureates and offer a unique overview of the Dutch artistic landscape, full of both contrast and unexpected connections and continuity. Of the two most recent laureates, Erik van Lieshout will create a new, room-filling reinstallation of his work Die Insel, and Yvonne Dröge Wendel will present new work made specifically with the support of the award. As well as watching and listening to the works, touching or even smelling is also required in order to fully experience the experimental and sometimes playful tradition that has largely defined Dutch art since 1988.

Charles Esche, director Van Abbemuseum: ‘The collaboration with the Dr. A.H. Heineken Foundation for Art offers an opportunity for our museum to become the Dutch National Contemporary Art Museum for the summer. We can show very diverse artists together and discover what they tell us about national origin and international reputation. Eight laureates are represented in the museum’s collection and both former director Rudi Fuchs and curator Steven ten Thije have been on the jury. The museum therefore feels close to this award and we are happy to be the first to present such an overview in its history.’

2018 Erik van Lieshout
2016 Yvonne Dröge Wendel
2014 Wendelien van Oldenborgh
2012 Peter Struycken
2010 Mark Manders
2008 Barbara Visser
2006 Job Koelewijn
2004 Daan van Golden
2002 Aernout Mik
2000 Guido Geelen
1998 Jan van de Pavert
1996 Karel Martens
1994 Matthijs Röling
1992 Carel Visser
1990 Marrie Bot
1988 Toon Verhoef

See the Annex for full biographies as well as jury reports.
Short movie of all laureates.

Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for Art
The Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for Art has been awarded every two years since 1988. The laureate receives 100,000€, half of which is intended for a publication and/or an exhibition. It is financed from a private fund, the Dr. A.H. Heineken Foundation for Art. Alfred Heineken introduced the prize, which was named after himself, as recognition and encouragement of talent in the arts in the Netherlands. It is a prestigious and generous prize, also in comparison with international awards.

The Dr. A.H. Heineken Prize for Art — together with five major prizes for science — is awarded by the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW).

The laureate of 2018
The laureate of 2018 is Erik van Lieshout who has received the prize for ‘the radical, personal and confrontational nature of his work’. The formal presentation of the award will take place on September 27, 2018 in Amsterdam.

The exhibition is accompanied by a bilingual publication that offers an overview of the exhibition through images of the laureates’ artworks and contextualisation of the prize in essays by Renée Steenbergen on private patronage and by Steven ten Thije and Diana Franssen on the changing artistic landscape of contemporary art in the Netherlands, as well as information on each project.

Symposium cultural patronage
In the context of the exhibition, an international symposium on cultural patronage will take place on Thursday September 20 in the Van Abbemuseum.

Diana Franssen and Steven ten Thije.

The exhibition, publication and symposium are made possible by the Dr. A.H. Heineken Foundation for Art and KNAW.

Van Abbemuseum
Bilderdijklaan 10
5611 NH Eindhoven
The Netherlands
T: +31 40 238 1000
Press release in pdf
Biographies and jury rapports of all 16 laureates
Overview of all images of the 16 laureates
High res photos via our Mediabank
Short movie all 16 laureates
For questions and interviews, contact:
Nicole de Boer, nicole@prandco.nl, +31 (0)6 2480 8928
Ilse Cornelis, i.cornelis@vanabbemuseum.nl, + 31 (0)6 1299 5794.
Opening hours museum: tu-su 11.00 – 17.00. 1st Thursday of the month: 11.00 – 21.00.

Erik van Lieshout, Sword Dance, 2017. Courtesy Erik van Lieshout and Anton Kern Gallery, New York. Photo Object Studies
Karel Martens, Colours on the Beach, 2017, Le Havre. Courtesy Karel Martens. Photo Hilke-Maunder.
Jan van de Pavert, De vrijheid II: de vrijheid, 2016-2017. Courtesy Jan van de Pavert.
Carel Visser, Charly 2, 1985. Collection Groninger Museum. Photo John Stoel.

The Van Abbemuseum  is supported by: